A Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to all!!!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, December 21, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management…

Well can you believe it, it’s that time of year again, Christmas! It has snuck up on us again but it has been a great year here at Metro that’s for sure.

This past month our team and their respective partners had our Christmas Party, a weekend away in lovely Queenscliff, a beautiful town that we think everyone should visit.

We stayed in the grand old Queenscliff Hotel with its antique furniture and ‘Olde World’ feel, so very lovely. Being such a big group some of us stayed at Athalstane House which by all reports was a relaxing bed & breakfast style of hotel with all the mod cons. We surprised the team with a game of Lawn Bowls in the afternoon complete with prizes for the winners (pink glittered lawn bowls) and for the runners up a copy of the ‘Crackerjack’ DVD. We also had a delicious 3 course dinner and drinks at the Ripview Bistro and the following morning a fabulous buffet breakfast back at the Queenscliff Hotel, although there were a couple of us with sore heads. So all in all a fantastic time was had by all.

So it’s back into the swing of things and our offices are open over the Christmas and New Year Period, our opening hours are below…

Friday 24th December - 9am to 1pm
Saturday 25th December - Closed
Sunday 26th December - Closed
Monday 27th December - Closed
Tuesday 28th December - Closed
Wednesday 29th December - 9am to 4pm
Thursday 30th December - 9am to 4pm
Friday 31st December - 9am to 1pm
Saturday 1st January - Closed
Monday 3rd January - Closed
(NB: We resume our normal business hours 9.00am-5.30pm on Tuesday 4th January 2011)

We all hope you have something fantastic planned for New Years Eve this year and we have heard of a couple of great family friendly events being held in and around the city. One of them being the Free Family Friendly event at Yarra Park from 6pm-9.45pm include roving performers, rides, kids activities, workshops and headline acts on the mainstage. Families are encouraged to bring a picnic rug and relax on the grass to countdown to the 9.15pm fireworks. There is also the family friendly event at Waterfront City at Docklands, for more information on both of these events please visit http://ow.ly/3sS7k .

The team at Metro Property Management would like to take this opportunity to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a safe, happy and successful New Year in 2011.

Until 2011…
More aboutA Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to all!!!

December and Summer Begins

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, November 30, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management…

And so it’s the 1st day of Summer and it’s raining…ah Melbourne…

Only 24 days until Christmas and we here at Metro are excited (& a little frightened), the tree has gone up in the office today already!

This month our team has been given $100 each to shop for gifts for the Kmart Wishing Tree, it’s a Christmas tradition now and the team just love it! It’s always a competition to see who gets the most and most interesting gifts for all ages, so far the pile is huge! My boys will come into the office and ‘test drive’ them and then each member has nominated a store nearest to them to take the gifts to, so that our gifts are given to the different charities supported by the various Kmart stores. 

In other news Metro Property Management turned 4 today and we have celebrated with a pizza lunch for the team and some delish cupcakes from our favourite store…The Cupcake Bakery, a great start to the Christmas month of eating.

No doubt the shops will be hectic this weekend with people Christmas ‘shopping till they are literally dropping’, however if you happen to be in the city don’t forget to take the kids (big or small) to see the Myer Christmas Window Display, as usual they are fantastic and will have you all in the Christmas spirit. This years theme is ‘The Nutcracker’ http://ow.ly/3hW6k

Till next time…
More aboutDecember and Summer Begins

Stamping Out Housing Affordability

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, November 9, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director Metro Property Management...


A collegue of ours Adam Watts (of Lifetime Financial Group) has written the below article that appears on ‘The Weekly Review’ website (a popular website and magazine in Melbourne). I thought you may enjoy this interesting read in regards to the excessive Stamp Duties Victorians in particular are forced to pay....

By Adam Watts (LifeTime Financial Group), www.theweeklyreview.com.au 3/11/10

Why is it that we have all accepted excessive stamp duty on Victorian property? If you compare stamp duties across Australia, and even between countries, you will start to question the exorbitant cost.

Generally, in day-to-day life, you get what you pay for when it comes to the quality or quantity of goods and services. No such logic applies to the application of stamp duty. As Victorians, we are paying higher stamp duty than almost all states and this, combined with an already high and climbing median property price for Melbourne, adds up.

Let’s look at duties across the states.

Considering a $500,000 property price, the following stamp-duty costs would apply:

Northern Territory $23,928

Victoria $21,970

South Australia $21,330

Australian Capital Territory $20,500

New South Wales $17,990

Western Australia $17,765

Queensland $8750

(Source: www.homeloans.com.au)

So what is Victoria doing with these extra and rising proceeds?

Excessive duties are particularly being felt by younger generations as they attempt to save a house deposit. With banks and other non-banking financial institutions increasing deposit requirements, largely thanks to the global financial crisis, individual property deposit savings have been struggling to keep pace with rising property prices and the associated rising stamp duty.

Higher bank deposit requirements, coupled with flat household income trends – again an outcome of an economic correction – have made it almost impossible for first-time buyers to enter the property market without compromising on size or location.

Today’s reality is that the median property price in affluent Melbourne suburbs is now incurring more than $100,000 of stamp duty for house or investment purchases.

As at June 30, stamp-duty costs on the five most expensive Melbourne suburbs, as per their median price for the quarter, included:

Toorak $114,400

Brighton $93,500

Kew $87,480

Balwyn $82,500

Elwood $78,925

(Source: Herald Sun 18/09/2010)

Stamp-duty costs, even on Melbourne’s median property price at June 30, was near to $30,000. Understanding this cost, how long do you think it actually takes the average Melbourne worker to save $30,000 after tax? I don’t believe this research has been carried out yet, but I would imagine the answer would be “a very long time”.

It is no surprise that households are buying up outer-Melbourne house-and-land packages. Properties are simply more affordable, with the ability to take advantage of additional first-home-buyer government incentives on newly constructed houses.

However, this could be causing an undesired demographic change of young couples and young families moving from the city and its infrastructure and amenities, which may not be as well supplied in and around outer-Melbourne housing estates.

Furthermore, if housing affordability and its associated costs don’t improve in Melbourne, we may also see a migration of residents to other cities or other, more-affordable states.

Why am I so passionate about this financial issue? Not only is it an issue for my younger clients, I have started to contemplate how my son, Oliver, will ever be able to afford inner-suburban housing? Some parents seem to be planning and have invested in or intend to invest in properties (apartments) for the benefit of, and an option for, their children when they eventually move out of the family house.

In addition to viewing it as an investment with tax benefits, maybe these parents also have an ulterior motive – ensuring their children don’t move too far from mum and dad.

So at what point and at what price does the Victorian Government say “we’re charging too much?” If it is not going to reduce its cost, when does it start giving some value back to house buyers with additional facilities and services?

The system needs to improve, because if it doesn’t, we may well be naming our children’s generation as the “renting generation”.

Adam is a Financial Planner for LifeTime Financial Groupadam@yourlifetime.com.au
More aboutStamping Out Housing Affordability

A Fantastic End to October!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, November 2, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management…

The last week of October was a very exciting one! For one I was very proud to win the REIV Residential Property Manager of the Year 2010 Award at the 17th Annual REIV Gala Awards held at the Crown Palladium Ballroom. It was so very nice to have many of my team attend and share in my joy. I was very shocked to say the least. I was up against some tough competition and to win was such an honor and a fantastic reward for all of the hard work my team and I put into our business. The REIV tell me that this year there were a record number of entries which makes the win all the more special and it helps my team and I feel like we are doing something right. The congratulations from our colleagues and clients have been overwhelming!

In other news I was approached a few months ago for some comments for an article in the “First Property Buyer” Magazine, this is a relatively new magazine and was first brought to my attention at the Home Buyer and Investor Show that we attended a few months ago. Now in it’s 4th issue this is a magazine that is full of interesting information for those purchasing their first property either to live in or to lease out as the magazine not only targets those who have never purchased before but also those who have never been a property investor before . I was asked to make some comments &/or offer advice for an article called “Hired Help” which discussed the reality’s of becoming a landlord, the benefits of assigning a Property Manager to care for your investment, the costs involved and how to find the best Property Manager.

The article is a great read and it was fantastic to have the opportunity to inform the first time investors out there about the benefits of a great Property Manager. (The article “Hired Help” can be found in the “First Property Buyers” Magazine - November 2010 issue on Pages 63-65) For more interesting reading and information on the magazine visit their website http://www.firstpropertybuyer.com.au/

Until next time…
More aboutA Fantastic End to October!

Real Estate Tale of Two Cities

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, October 4, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director Metro Property Management...

My collegue came across the below article that appeared on 'The Age' website yesterday. I thought you may all really enjoy this 'to the point' article about housing shortage, interesting reading...

By Simon Johanson, The Age.com (October 4, 2010)

AUSTRALIA is suffering a chronic housing shortage.

The figure commonly bandied about is that there is a shortfall right now of nearly 200,000 dwellings.

Around the country there are individuals, couples and families struggling to put a roof over their heads. It's a dire situation that's set to get worse.

Goldman Sachs estimates in a recent report that in two years' time the national shortage will be 250,000 dwellings - nine times the size of the next largest housing gap back in the mid-1970s.

A housing shortage is not only hard for those struggling to find a place to live, it also drives up property prices for everyone else and generally makes housing less affordable.

But buried in one of the documents littering my desk is a paragraph from an authoritative BIS Shrapnel building industry prospects paper that states the following:

''For 2009-10 dwelling commencements [in Victoria] are estimated to have lifted 27 per cent to 53,350 starts.'' In other words, 53,000 new houses were started last year.

According to the report this is a record level of housing construction for the state and is above the estimated annual underlying demand for new dwellings.

So what's going on? If, as it turns out, Victoria is building more homes than needed, why does the state still have a housing supply problem?

The answer lies in the fact that it doesn't have a problem, or at least it doesn't have as much of a problem as its northern neighbours New South Wales and Queensland.

Between 2006 and 2010 Victoria, like the rest of the nation, experienced rapid population growth that resulted in pent-up demand for housing.

At the time new home construction couldn't keep up and the state was left with a housing shortfall last year estimated at 42,000 dwellings. It turned on the building-and-land-supply tap and in three years that figure is expected to drop to 29,000 dwellings.

''As of this year, we've had a very strong upturn and we're starting to build more than is required but we also have that pent-up demand from the last three years to work through,'' says BIS Shrapnel senior analyst Angie Zigomanis.

While a deficit of 42,000 dwellings sounds like a lot, Sydney has an even bigger problem.

Figures released last week show Victoria continues to be the powerhouse behind new home construction. NSW, by contrast, dragged its feet with a severe drop in new homes sales.

This year BIS Shrapnel estimates there will be a shortfall in NSW of 99,000 dwellings.

Unlike Victoria, NSW is hampered by the slow release of land for building, geographic limitations to growth on the outskirts of Sydney, higher levies on developers and planning hold-ups.

''It's a combination of developer levies that have been much higher than elsewhere, but also the geography of Sydney makes it more difficult to bring new supply on stream than in Melbourne,'' says Macquarie Bank senior economist Brian Redican.

It's a situation exacerbated by higher interest rates.

''We've seen lending for new construction fall over the previous 12 months and now that's flowing through into people getting fewer approvals from their local governments to build new houses,'' Redican says.

Last year new dwelling starts in NSW were at their lowest level for 50 years - an unprecedented situation for a state facing such an enormous and daunting housing shortfall.

''In NSW the cost of new land has been so much higher than in Victoria that it has been much less profitable for developers to bring new supply into the market,'' Redican says.

In Sydney the cost of developing a greenfield site ($560,000) is more expensive than developing an infill site ($550,000). In other cities, it's the reverse and at least a quarter less expensive, Goldman Sachs estimates.

Because work has started on so few new dwellings, next year's estimate puts the housing shortfall at 111,000 and rising.

For the first time this year, an almost unprecedented event contributed to Melbourne's population jump - while 4280 Victorians moved north, even more Queenslanders (4471) moved south.

Those that brave the southern chill will have an easier job finding a house in Melbourne.

Queensland had an estimated shortfall of 38,000 dwellings this year. That deficit is likely to rise to 56,000 by 2012.

So what will help? More first home buyer grants? Not according to Goldman Sachs.

''The most illogical policy prescription over the past decade has been the preference by federal and state governments to provide first home buyer grants as a way of encouraging new housing supply.''

The major challenge facing Australia is an acute lack of supply, not a shortage of demand.

''Only 16 per cent of first home buyers buy a newly constructed house. The vast majority use the first home buyers grant to bid up the price of the existing housing stock.''

If you are going to fix the problem, you have to start at the source. Sydney, with a little help from Queensland, is almost single-handedly responsible for the entire nation's housing shortage.
More aboutReal Estate Tale of Two Cities

A Day at the Royal Melbourne Show

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, September 22, 2010

As a kid everyone loves the Royal Melbourne Show, we all want to go along and have a go on the rides, buy showbags, eat lots of junk food and be part of the annual event. It's a Melbourne thing, and something I know I didn't get to do much of as a child as the my parents just couldn't afford it.

Now as a parent of 3 young children, I understand - I get it!

How do other families afford to go?

Let me give you a run down on our day...

Firstly the day before, both my husband and I worked much later to ensure we could take the day off without the stress of work playing in our minds throughout the day.

We planned ahead and purchased an early bird ticket. Great thinking I thought and surely it will be cheaper...... some $55 later, this allowed the 5 of us to be scanned into the gates of the showgrounds. Oh, I forgot to mention the $15 car parking expense as you drive in.... So already we have spent $70 and we have not gone on a ride or purchased a showbag!

The boys were very excited and loved visiting the animal sheds. The size of the chickens and roosters will blow your mind - they are huge and so noisy. We visited the animal baby nursery and we got to pat many of the animals. So then it was ride time...

The boys are all under 6 so we started in what they call (I think) the kids carnival area. Just a couple of rides for each and $100 gone - just like that.

So then we stopped for a coffee, drink and quick snack for morning tea - yep another $30 gone!

At this stage we had only been at the show for about an hour and we had already spent $200. We wandered around a little more, watching some of the animal shows and rides. You can see the overload of stimulation young kids feel - it's a sensory overload at times.

It was now lunchtime and we found a spot on the grand stand to sit and eat our lunch. A couple of small pizzas, some chips and drinks and another $50 flew out of my purse.

The boys were starting to get tired as you do, so much walking, so we decided to head down to the show bag area and the boys were all allowed to choose a showbag each. So after much pondering (as kids do), they selected a Toy Story 3, Buzz Lightyear and Handy Manny bag each and before my eyes another $72 disappeared from my purse.

Within 3 hours we had spent over $300.

I remember looking around and seeing lots of other mums and dads with their kids and all chock-a-block with showbags - I kept thinking, how can they afford to come to the show and then be able to buy showbags for the kids???

It's sad to think that there are many more kids out there who may never get to experience the joy or surrounds of the show because it's just too expensive for most.....
More aboutA Day at the Royal Melbourne Show

What's Happening at Metro in August!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, August 11, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management)...

Well the time has finally arrived where our new website is up and running and we are very excited about it! We hope that you find the new website easy to navigate and that you find all of the wonderful new additions that we have incorporated useful.


We have added fantastic new features such as 'Property Alerts' for our potential tenants and now have several convenient ways of applying for a property, one of which is utilising the popular '1Form' applications website, which includes our very own custom form. For our Owners we now have a quick and easy link for you to receive a 'Rental Assessment' from us, perhaps on a new property you have purchased, and there is also a new option for you to receive an obligation free sales 'Market Appraisal'. There is so much more to our new site so please have a browse around and let us know your thoughts http://www.metropm.com.au/


Also this month we have held two Interactive Discussion groups regarding Self Managed Super Funds and how to actually go about setting one up. We have worked with a company called Super Fusion to bring this valuable information to our clients. We decided to hold this session in our offices and to keep the numbers small so as to encourage questions and open discussion on a subject that can often be a little daunting. The session was a great success and we are looking to hold a couple more sessions in September on the 9th & 22nd from 6-7.30pm at our offices. Seats are again limited to just 12 people per session so if you are interested in attending please do not hesitate to contact Melissa Venn on 03 9831 3006 or via email at melissav@metropm.com.au

Until next time...
More aboutWhat's Happening at Metro in August!

Home Buyer & Investor Show - Melbourne in July

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Sunday, July 4, 2010


From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director - Metro Property Management


Metro Property Management is excited to announce that we are exhibiting at this years Home Buyer & Property Investor Show at the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre (MCEC), 2 Clarendon Street, Southbank. The show runs from Friday 23rd July through to Sunday the 25th of July and offers a wealth of knowledge from varied property & finance professionals.

Apart from the Exhibitor stands where you can visit those companies you have an interest in seeing & chatting to there are seminars throughout the day to offer helpful advice & information on all things real estate and finance related. Although this is Metro’s first time exhibiting at the show many of us have attended in years past and felt it was a great opportunity & a ‘one-stop shop’ for those wanting to purchase their first home, an investor purchasing another property or even those interested in building their new home.

As Metro Property Management followers and valued clients we have secured an extra special ticket price just for you...50% off the full $15 entry price, that’s just $7.50 per ticket !!! (your ticket also includes entry to the adjacent expo ‘ Trading & Investing Seminars & Expo’ for free). At that price all of your friends and family can come along to this fantastic event.

In order for you to access this special offer you will need to purchase your ticket before the event and online at the Home Buyer & Investor Show website http://www.homebuyershow.com.au/melbourne/ then, when you go to pay for the tickets you will be asked for a ‘Promo’ code which is: Exhibitor. Enter the promo code and the discount is applied! Make sure you visit us at our fantastic stand (Stand No: H79) and say Hi. We’d love to see you there!
More aboutHome Buyer & Investor Show - Melbourne in July

Be Silly for a Serious Cause

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

From the Desk of Leah Calnan, Director

SIDS & Kids Red Nose Day is Friday 25th June this year and we at Metro Property Management fully support this worthy cause. Red Nose Day (first began in 1988) is a day where you can wear a red nose (if being a ‘clown’ is not already your occupation!) and make a fool of yourself to raise money for a great organization.

SIDS & Kids benefits those that have experienced the death of a baby or child during pregnancy, birth and infancy. They offer a 24hr 7 day a week bereavement support line and offer ongoing support via counseling. The funds raised from the day also go not only to keeping this vital 24hr hotline running but to educate parents, childcare workers & health professionals on how to reduce the risk of SIDS (Sudden Infant Death Syndrome). The organization also conducts research into the prevention and possible causes of the unexpected death of babies and children.

For more information on this great cause please visit the Red Nose Day website http://www.rednoseday.com.au/ and donate online. Alternatively visit a retail store that supports the organization and buy something for yourself, a friend or your children. It’s not just red noses for people, there are red noses for cars too! There’s plush toys, pens, lapel pins, lip balm and bracelets. So why not get involved and keep this charity and their research running for many more years to come.
More aboutBe Silly for a Serious Cause

Metro's Fundraising Morning Tea

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, May 26, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management

Australia’s Biggest Morning Tea is a fantastic opportunity to get together with our workmates & friends to raise money for the Cancer Council, an illness that can or will effect either ourselves or someone we love.

It’s amazing what even a small donation can do to make a difference. In fact we are told that just $5 can help the council give a newly diagnosed cancer patient important support and information resources to help them through their cancer journey and that $50 can help the council visit a community to educate health professionals and support patients and carers. Every little bit adds up and we can already see on their website as of today that the ABMT campaign has already raised upwards of $770,400.

Although the official Morning Tea day is today, Thursday 27th May, our office will be holding our own Morning Tea here at the office tomorrow, Friday the 28th May, we will all be bringing a plate and hopefully raising some much needed dollars for the fund. If you would like to donate to the cause please visit our very own fundraising website http://ow.ly/1NoV2 where you can make a donation via credit card to help us reach and exceed our goal. If you would like more information about Australia’s Biggest Morning Tea you can visit their website http://www.biggestmorningtea.com.au/
More aboutMetro's Fundraising Morning Tea

One in a Million!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, April 28, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan...

Mother's Day is just around the corner (Sunday 9th May) and what better way to spoil your mum than getting her an unusual gift. Stuck for ideas? Well we have a couple to help you out.

We have found a fabulous website called Red Balloon that offer all sorts of ‘experiences’. Anything from a gourmet cooking class, pedicure, massage and hot ballooning across the Yarra Valley to a V8 race car ride! http://ow.ly/1Exse

Perhaps your mum lives interstate (and is not so much into race car rides)? Why not send her something a bit different than the regular bunch of flowers. Why not send her a bouquet of chocolates!!! Edible Blooms is a great online company that send creative edible bouquets all across Australia. We at Metro have used them many a time and just love the idea. http://ow.ly/1ExsH

Are you are planning a family get together and are stuck for an idea of what to do? We have found just the thing to get you all together for a day of laughs and fundraising for a great cause. The ‘Mothers Day Classic’ is a national fun run and events will be held in all capital cities on Mothers day including Melbourne to raise funds for Breast Cancer Research. You can run or walk, groups are welcomed and you can even dress up if you like. To date the ‘Mother's Day Classic’ has raised $5.7 million towards breast cancer research. http://ow.ly/1Exta

Whatever it is that you and your family do, we all hope you enjoy the day. “A mother holds her children's hands for a while...their hearts forever” (Author Unknown).
More aboutOne in a Million!

A Tribute to our Anzac Soldiers

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, April 22, 2010


From the desk of Leah Calnan.....


Metro would like to honour our Anzacs and we felt the perfect way to do this was through the eyes of a 12 year old boy, Blake Morgan who wrote this poem about his ancestors.


Lest we forget? Lest we forget what?
The beach, the bush and the freedom I’ve got!
It’s always been here, since I was a boy.
My clothes, my friends, my family, my toys!
I live by the beach, enjoy the sand and the sea.
There could be no better place to live for me.
The restrictions I have, in a life full of fun,
Are only restricted by my dad and mum!

The things they have seen, the lessons they have learned!
They will instill them in me, and their trust I will earn!
For they know the past, and the stories of old.
Stories that must forever be told!

Stories of courage, of strength and determination.
Stories that have moulded and shaped this great nation!
Stories about heroes, about good men and women.
Stories that give me the great life that I am living!

But sadly, I know, these heroes I will never meet!
Still I will march in their memory, on their day,
Down George Street!
I will march for the heroes that didn't come home
And I know I'll be marching for the ones left alone!
My great grandads were there, left behind the ones
that they loved!
So I could live in this great land and live the life that I love!

One grandpa came home and one grandpa laid to rest.
So proudly I wear both their medals on my chest!
I thank you my heroes, from the bottom of my heart.
The young men the donkey, with his master and cart!
Be proud of yourselves and hold your heads high.
Enjoy what you have saved from your perch in the sky!
Anzacs they call you and Anzacs you are

God please love the Anzacs because two are my pas.

More aboutA Tribute to our Anzac Soldiers

Giggle Fest this April!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, April 7, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management


Well it’s the fourth month of the year and how the year is flying! April is upon us and we are into our second month of Autumn, a beautiful season that Melbourne is famous for.


Melbourne is also famous for it’s comedy season ie: The Melbourne International Comedy Festival. A festival choc-ful of comedy stars and newcomers that runs from the 24th of March, through to the 18th of April. All budgets are catered for, there are even some free events as well as those ranging between $15-$40. Comedy theatre, children’s events, standup and the odd musical, what more could you want! Sure to give even the most serious of people sore stomach muscles caused by a case of ‘the giggles’.

We as a team are looking forward to attending standup comedian and occasional Channel Ten personality, Tom Gleeson, sure to be a good night (no pressure Tom).

If you would like to join in on the fun of the festival take a look at The Comedy Festival website where you can browse the comedians and book your tickets www.comedyfestival.com.au


We have also had a busy week in the office being a short week and there are some great properties on our website for lease all over Melbourne at the moment. Why not take a look at our website and see what we have on offer? We also have our 'open homes' listed for this weekend! You might just find your new home! www.metropm.com.au

More aboutGiggle Fest this April!

Easter Greetings! - The Origin of the Easter Bunny

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, March 30, 2010



From the desk of Leah Calnan - Director, Metro Property Management

The team at Metro Property Management would like to wish you and your family a very Happy Easter and a safe and happy long weekend.

We here in the office were having a chat the other day about how the Easter Bunny tradition came about and so we felt we would share the answer with you too...

The Easter bunny has its origin in pre-Christian fertility lore. The Hare and the Rabbit were the most fertile animals known and they served as symbols of the new life during the Spring season.

The bunny as an Easter symbol seems to have its origins in Germany, where it was first mentioned in German writings in the 1500s. The first edible Easter bunnies were made in Germany during the early 1800s and were made of pastry and sugar. The Easter bunny was introduced to American folklore by the German settlers who arrived in the Pennsylvania Dutch country during the 1700s.

The arrival of the "Oschter Haws" (Easter Bunny) was considered "childhood's greatest pleasure" next to a visit from Christ-Kindel on Christmas Eve. The children believed that if they were good the "Oschter Haws" would lay a nest of coloured eggs.

The children would build their nest in a secluded place in the home, the barn or the garden. Boys would use their caps and girls their bonnets to make the nests. The use of elaborate Easter baskets would come later as the tradition of the Easter bunny spread through out the country.
(Source: http://www.holidays.net.au/)



More aboutEaster Greetings! - The Origin of the Easter Bunny

Twilight Opens this Week!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Sunday, March 21, 2010

From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management...



For convenience Metro Property Management provides mid-week 'twilight' opens, these are convenient to those wishing to view properties but cannot do so on weekends or perhaps you'd like a second look at that great property you saw on the weekend. Below is a list of this weeks 'twilight' open homes and the links to view info on these properties.



Tuesday 23rd March 2010

6.30-6.45pm

3/423 Middleborough Rd, Box Hill

Link: http://ow.ly/1pcyr





Wednesday 24th March 2010

5.30-5.45pm

7/8 Auburn Grove, Hawthorn

Link: http://ow.ly/1pczn



6.15-6.30pm

Units 16, 44 & 55 Mountain Hwy, Wantirna

Links (in same order): http://ow.ly/1pcDh , http://ow.ly/1pcDN, http://ow.ly/1pcJY



6.40-6.55pm

15/235 Scoresby Rd, Boronia

Link: http://ow.ly/1pcEq





Thursday 25th March 2010

5.30-5.45pm

26 & 56/5 Piney Ridge, Endeavour Hills
Links (in same order):
http://ow.ly/1pcG2 , http://ow.ly/1pcGj




5.45-6.00pm

G08w/189 Powlett St, East Melbourne

Link: http://ow.ly/1pcFI



6.05-6.20pm

60 Huon Park Drive, Cranbourne North

Link: http://ow.ly/1pcH6



6.35-6.50pm

14 Melzak Way, Berwick

Link: http://ow.ly/1pcHE
















More aboutTwilight Opens this Week!

Metro's Newsletter - Our First for 2010!!!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Our newsletter has been composed by our Director, Leah Calnan...

In this edition of our new look Metro Newsletter or "Mews", Leah Calnan discusses what is in store for the year and the great changes that are happening at Metro Property Management.
There is also valuable information on Rental Vacancy Rates, Landlord Insurance & Maintenance on your investment. Take a look, it's great reading.

Link to the newsletter: http://ow.ly/1nbDC
If you'd like to subscribe to receive our future newsletters why not simply visit our website, enter your details and 'hey presto' it's in your INBOX!! (Subscribe Link:- http://ow.ly/1nbJR)
More aboutMetro's Newsletter - Our First for 2010!!!

Industry Passion

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, March 15, 2010


From the desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management


I love what I do for a living! I love it with a passion! I love the team I work with and I love the thrill of having successful outcomes for all clients, both owners and tenants.

Do we always get it right? Not a chance!

We are humans too and sometimes mistakes occur but there are so many ways of resolving a mistake.


Firstly, why don't people talk anymore? I mean, really talk...We all hide behind emails and write in capitals, yet put those 2 people face to face - what a difference it would make!!


Secondly, acknowledge human error and move on. It's not intentional, nor is it deliberate.

Finally, life is so very short. What you had today could be gone tomorrow!! How many times has the smallest matter been blown so completely out of control - sometimes we just need to let it go... I am sure you will feel better for it!!
More aboutIndustry Passion

When is your best enough?

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, March 10, 2010

From the Desk of Leah Calnan, Director of Metro Property Management...

Have you ever stopped in the middle of something and asked yourself - Is my best enough?
Does this question arise because of our own insecurities or is it based on other people's perception?

When you visit a fast food restaurant and you must wait 3-5 minutes for your meal, why are we so impatient?

Shouldn't we give the person making our meal a break? Perhaps they are doing their best? Only within ourselves can we honestly say, I did my best and that's truly all anyone can ask for!
More aboutWhen is your best enough?

In the Pursuit of Rental Growth

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, March 4, 2010

In the current March Issue of Australian Property Investor magazine our very own Leah Calnan offered some great advice for those investors searching for locations with the potential for rental growth.

Leah touches on investigating ‘Days on Market’, marketing and the public reaction via internet interest and by attending open homes, adding sought after property features, the importance of maintaining or creating that fresh ‘new’ feel of a property. Leah also discusses the importance of ‘lifestyle appeal’, noting changes in demographics and speaking with your property managers to tap into their knowledge before purchasing your next investment.

If you’d like to chat with Leah regarding your investment or a prospective investment, please feel free to contact her on (03) 9831 3000 or 0412 359 032. Visit our website http://www.metropm.com.au/ or for more info on the API magazine visit http://www.apimagazine.com.au/
More aboutIn the Pursuit of Rental Growth

Professional Credibility

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Saturday, February 6, 2010


Professional credibility, we all talk about it, but what does it really mean? Does it really exist?
Within the real estate world can we honestly say people practice it? It’s an interesting topic and something my team and I have come up against over the past few weeks.

The question arises do you do the right thing or do you do what needs to be done to get the deal done?

When an agent receives an application from a property when they have been clearly told they will not be appointed the managing agent and did not show the prospective tenant through the house, yet they present the application to the owner for approval.

Or what happens when you have a general authority in place, you secure an applicant that is approved by the owner and 24 hours later the other agent submits another application to the owner for approval (knowing that there is already one approved and subject to payment of bond). Has gazumping made a return?

It's no wonder real estate agents are ranked so low on the creditability / ethics scale.

So, what did we do?

Well as a team having the “right” ethics is high on our own company values. So we didn’t bad mouth any of the agents in question to the clients, because that would make as a low as they are, but in stead we will continue to do the right thing although knowing that many others don’t and never will?
More aboutProfessional Credibility

I love doing this!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Friday, January 22, 2010

This is so cool: because we only look at things we want to look at, only talk about things worth talking about, the amount of fabulous in the world continues to rise exponentially.

Even though we're at the tail end of the great recession, think about all the cool stuff in your life. Not just stuff you can buy, but experiences, works of art, innovations of all kinds... the bar has been raised for what you need to do to be noticed, and the market is responding.

Not only do I notice more fabulous, but it sure seems as though the creators of it are more engaged, dedicated and yes, joyful, than I can remember. If there was ever a moment to follow your passion and do work that matters, this is it. You can't say, "but I need to make a fortune instead," because that's not happening right now. So you might as well join the people who can say, "I love doing this."

(Seth Godin)
More aboutI love doing this!

Twilight opens - Wednesday 20th January

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, January 18, 2010

71 Kirkton Drive, Kurunjang

5:30 - 5:45pm

Further details: http://ow.ly/Y4FW





6 Gunsynd Mews, Kurunjang

5:45 - 6:00pm

Further details: http://ow.ly/Y4Gm





2 Gunsynd Mews, Kurunjang

5:45 - 6:00pm

Further details: http://ow.ly/Y4GT





2/18 Dominic Parade, Melton

6:10 - 6:25pm

Further details: http://ow.ly/Y4Hn





7 Joseph Place, Melton

6:35 - 6:50pm

Further details: http://ow.ly/Y4HU
More aboutTwilight opens - Wednesday 20th January

Twilight Opens - Tuesday 19th January

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Sunday, January 17, 2010

9 (Lot 138) Kristini Place, Truganina







Open Tuesday 19th January 5:00pm - 5:15pm
$300pw - 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom, double lock up garage
Further details at: http://ow.ly/XA2v



16 Prairie Street, Truganina







Open Tuesday 19th January 5:00 - 5:15pm
$280pw - 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, double lock up garage
Further details at: http://ow.ly/XA4l




65/12 Pecks Road, Sydenham







Open Tuesday 19th January 5:30 - 5:45pm
$220pw - 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom, single lock up garage
Further details at: http://ow.ly/XA6Y



336 Pascoe Vale Road, Essendon








Open Tuesday 19th January 6:00 - 6:15pm
$360pw - 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, single lock up garage
Further details at: http://ow.ly/XA9K




48/108 Elgin Street, Carlton








Open Tuesday 19th January 6:45 - 7:00
$390pw - 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, secure carpark
Further details at: http://ow.ly/XApV
More aboutTwilight Opens - Tuesday 19th January

In memory of R.S.

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, January 7, 2010


The life of a property manager can sometimes be overwhelming. From the continual telephone calls, emails, maintenance – to the skills we learn on the job such as social work, counselling, budgeting, legal legislation and multi-tasking.

All this within 24 hours of our day – never doubt that a good property manager is worth their weight in gold!!

So what happens when one of your tenants passes away? What happens when your tenant has no family? What do you do? How do you know what to do?

Death must be one of the toughest emotions we all experience through our life, the loss of a loved one can sometimes be difficult to understand.

But what emotions do you experience when your tenant, who is in his 90’s, who comes into your office every month to pay his rent, passes away on Christmas Eve, alone, with no family to share Christmas with or to be at his bedside during his last moments and no one realizes he is missing for 2 weeks.

Death will always be sad – but no one deserves to die alone.

Today was a sad day…

We will miss you Rene!
More aboutIn memory of R.S.

2010 - A New Year - A New Decade!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, January 4, 2010






Times move so fast........

So what's in store for Metro in 2010?


Well, apart from us having a few (more!) babies on the way (which is nothing new for the Metro team), we have welcomed some new team members whilst saying good-bye to others in the later part of 2009. During January, we have twilight open homes on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights - so say hello to Cheyenne, Melissa or Samantha when you come along to inspect your new home. Our inspection times will be up until 7pm on those nights and our applications forms can be downloaded directly from this website.

Also, if you would like to catch our "property of the day" become a fan of Metro on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

We look forward to sharing our many new ideas with you in the coming months. Please feel free to email us at info@metropm.com.au with any feedback you may have.
More about2010 - A New Year - A New Decade!