Christmas Hours

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, December 21, 2009


During the festive season, Metro Property Management is pleased to advise that we are open over the Christmas/New Year period.


Our office hours are:

Thursday 24th December 2009 - closing at 2pm

Friday 25th December 2009 - closed

Saturday 26th December 2009 - closed

Monday 28th December 2009 - closed

Tuesday 29th December 2009 - Open 10am - 4pm

Wednesday 30th December 2009 - Open 10am - 4pm

Thursday 31st December 2009 - Open 10am - 4pm

Friday 1st January 2010 - closed

Saturday 2nd January 2010 - closed


Our normal business hours will resume on Monday 4th January 2010.


Enquiries can be made via email at info@metropm.com.au or you can view properties, open for inspection times or download application forms via our website at http://www.metropm.com.au/


We would like to take this opportunity to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a safe and Happy New Year.


More aboutChristmas Hours

Christmas Trifle Treat

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, December 15, 2009



Ingredients:

1 Jam Sponge Roll or Jam rollettes

1/4 cup of sweet sherry

1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence

2 cups thickened cream

1 sachet of jelly crystals

300g can of peach slices (drained)

Long life or fresh custard

Fresh strawberries or blueberries

1/4 cup of toasted flakes Almonds or chopped walnuts

Preparation:

Prepare jelly crystals

Add vanilla to cream and whip

Slice Jam Sponge Roll into 2cm slices and arrange in bottom of serving dish

Sprinkle with sherry

Top with jelly and half the thickened cream

Add a second layer of cake

Place peach slices on top then pour the custard over and chill

Decorate with remaining cream, strawberries, blueberries or other fruit and sprinkle with toasted flaked almonds or chopped walnuts

Serve chilled and enjoy!

More aboutChristmas Trifle Treat

Metro leases 54 properties for the month of November!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, December 3, 2009

Metro PM is pleased to have leased 54 properties through the month of November.

As the first home buyer grant creeps closer to finishing the question arises on what effect this will have on the vacancy rate?

What will 2010 have in store for us?

Metro Property Management leases and manages properties here, there and everywhere!

Contact Leah Calnan or Cheyenne Delamere to discuss any of your property management needs on (03) 9831 3000.
More aboutMetro leases 54 properties for the month of November!

Wishing everyone a Merry Christmas

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, December 2, 2009


This year, again, in lieu of Christmas cards, Metro have donated gifts to the Kmart Wishing Tree.


Each year, each Metro team member is allocated $100 to spend on as many gifts as possible. The gifts are then bought into the office and with the fantastic assistance of Metro Director - Leah Calnan's boys - Cooper, Jack and Liam, each present is "gently" road tested before we drop them off at the many Kmart stores across Melbourne.


A special thank you to the team at Metro Property Management who shop hard to find the most amazing bargains so that children wake up on Christmas Day and receive a special gift.


Well done Metro team!


A Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all.




More aboutWishing everyone a Merry Christmas

Buying Property Through Your Super Fund

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, November 19, 2009


On Tuesday 10th November, Metro held an exclusive event - Buying Property Through Your Super Fund.


Experts in their fields, speakers Dr Tony Hayek and Mr Vince Scully spoke on self managed super funds, how they work and how to increase your wealth for retirement.

Feedback from attendees was amazing!

"It was very informative & Tony's humour kept the seminar interesting & alive" - HC

"Why didn't I know about this before?" - WR

"The event simplified the puzzle of SMSF. We are not afraid of pursuing the opportunity" - SF

For further details on this event, please contact Carolyn or Leah on (03) 9831 3000.

If you would like to be invited to future exclusive Metro events please email Carolyn at carolynh@metropm.com.au
More aboutBuying Property Through Your Super Fund

Fabulous

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, November 10, 2009

This is so cool: because we only look at things we want to look at, only talk about things worth talking about, the amount of fabulous in the world continues to rise exponentially.
Even though we're at the tail end of the great recession, think about all the cool stuff in your life. Not just stuff you can buy, but experiences, works of art, innovations of all kinds... the bar has been raised for what you need to do to be noticed, and the market is responding.
Not only do I notice more fabulous, but it sure seems as though the creators of it are more engaged, dedicated and yes, joyful, than I can remember. If there was ever a moment to follow your passion and do work that matters, this is it. You can't say, "but I need to make a fortune instead," because that's not happening right now. So you might as well join the people who can say, "I love doing this."



(Thank to Seth Godin)
More aboutFabulous

Buying Property Through Your Super Fund

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, October 26, 2009

You could significantly increase the value of your superannuation by investing in property.


Experts in their fields, speakers Dr Tony Hayek (left) and Mr Vince Scully (right) will talk on self managed super funds, how they work and how you can increase your wealth for retirement.

At this exclusive Metro event you can:
Discover how you can fast-track the growth of your super
Learn how you can reduce your Capital Gains Tax to 0%
Understand the legal structures that are used within SMSF's
Learn how to finance SMSF transactions - what's legal and what's not

The Sydney event was fully booked with standing room only. There are limited seats available.
Don't miss your opportunity to hear these expert speakers!

To book please phone Carolyn on (03) 9831 3006 or email carolynh@metropm.com.au
More aboutBuying Property Through Your Super Fund

Look what happened during the past 10 years......

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, October 19, 2009


House prices may surge about 20 per cent or more in some of Australia's largest cities over the next three years, driven higher by on-going shortages.


Sydney prices may jump 21 per cent in that period, while Melbourne prices may be 19 per cent higher.


The increases are likely even with the expected rebound in interest rates as the economy recovers. The Reserve Bank last week lifted official interest rates from near half-century lows to 3.25 per cent and signalled more rate rises to come.


"While interest rates are forecast to rise over 2010-2012, the outlook for the Australian housing market looks positive," said QBE LMI chief Ian Graham.


"The current low interest rates will be the main driver for the house price increases, which are expected to accelerate through to 2012, particularly in those markets with positive affordability and continuing under supply of housing."


Based on calculations from data contained in the report, provided by the Real Estate Institute of Australia and BIS Shrapnel, the median house price in Sydney increased by 101 per cent from June 1998 to June 2008.


Over the same 10 year period the median house price in Melbourne more than doubled, rising 116 per cent.


Brisbane values soared 202 per cent while Adelaide's increased 208 per cent during the same 10 year stretch. Perth's rose 211 per cent and Hobart's soared 203 per cent. The median house prices of Canberra increased 191 per cent, while in Darwin they increased 135 per cent.


The current household debt to income ratio is around 155 per cent, up from about 130 per cent at the time of the last RBA rate rising cycle in 2003, Westpac said today, in releasing the September consumer confidence number.


Rising home prices has been a contributor to household debt, analysts say.


"Corrections are not like share market corrections, where people sell off all their shares"


"People just sit in the property and wait for things to improve. You don't have this turnover, aside from people who are forced to sell." (Angie Zigomanis - Bis Schrapnel Senior Project Manager)


(Information supplied by Chris Zappone - The Age Newspaper)
More aboutLook what happened during the past 10 years......

October is Breast Cancer Month

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, October 14, 2009


Right around the world, October is Breast Cancer Month.

Metro Property Management is a proud supporter of Breast Cancer Month and would love for you to get involved.

Some great ideas are:

A girls night in - send the boys out and invite the girls in for a night of fun and pampering!

Pink Ribbon Day - October 22nd is Pink Ribbon Day. Join in and purchase your pink ribbon or any of the hundreds of products available from the National Breast Cancer Foundation

Pink Ribbon Breakfast - Get your friends and/or work colleagues together and make the most important meal of the day fun while raising money for Breast Cancer Research.

More details can be found on the National Breast Cancer Foundation website: http://www.nbcf.org.au/





More aboutOctober is Breast Cancer Month

Buying Property Through Your Super Fund....An Invitation to attend

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, October 7, 2009


Significantly increase the value of your superannuation by investing in property.

EVENT DETAILS
Date
Tuesday 13th October, 2009

Time
6.30pm - 7.30pm Registration
7.00pm - 8.30pm Presentation
8.30pm - 8.45pm Questions and Answers

Venue
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, NSW
100 Murray Street
Pyrmont NSW


The Superannuation Act was recently changed to allow Self Managed Super Funds (SMSF's) to borrow to purchase assets. This has created new opportunities to invest in property through your super fund.

SMSF's are the fastest growing sector of the superannuation industry with 2,500 new funds being created every month. At this event you will learn why thousands of people are choosing to include property in their super funds and how this is significantly increasing their superannuation.

At This Event You Will:
Discover how you can fast-track the growth of your super
Learn how you can reduce your Capital Gains Tax to 0%
Understand the legal structures that are used within SMSF's
Learn how to finance SMSF transactions - what's legal and what's not
Case Study - Using Property to Increase Retirement Wealth

John is 50 years old. He and his wife have a combined super of $150,000. John earns $110,000pa and his wife earns $40,000pa. Based on their employer contributions and their funds past performance, they expect to retire with $727,137 and they are concerned that it will not be enough to maintain the lifestyle they would like.

They decided to set up a SMSF and purchase an investment property for $360,000. "We were able to use our superannuation as a deposit and our employer contributions and rent more than cover the loan repayments." They now feel confident that they will have enough money for retirement, even if the property achieves conservative growth, they expect their super fund will now be worth $1,031,062 at retirement.

This case study assumes: Retirement at 65, income grows at 3% pa, interest rates 7.5%, managed funds grow at 6% property grows at 6%.

You Should Attend This Event If:

You and your partner have $150,000 or more in superannuation
You want to increase your wealth for retirement
You want to learn more about Self Managed Super Funds and how they work
You would like to meet industry experts who can assist you in providing SMSF services to your clients

Bookings are essential. To book your seat call Carolyn on (03) 9831 3006 or email carolynh@metropm.com.au
More aboutBuying Property Through Your Super Fund....An Invitation to attend

Metro leases 44 properties in September!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, September 28, 2009


Metro PM is pleased to have leased 44 properties through the month of September.

This month we have noticed a reduced number of enquiries from prospective tenants which has resulted in a quieter month than we have experienced for many many months. Whilst the month was quiet for prospective tenants, it’s pleasing to see a return by investors to the residential market. October is already showing signs of a BIG month!

Metro manages and leases properties here, there and everywhere!

Please feel free to contact Leah Calnan or Cheyenne Delamere to discuss any of your property management needs on (03) 9831 3000.
More aboutMetro leases 44 properties in September!

Fun recipes for kids

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, September 22, 2009


Rice Cake Kitties (thanks to Word of Mouth)






4 SunRice 5 Grain Rice Cakes
2 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
1 sliced banana for the cheeks
shredded coconut, for whiskers
1/2 carrot thinly sliced, then trimmed into triangles for ears
4 raisins for the nose
8 currants for the eyes

Method

Preparation time: 5 minutes.
Serves: 2

Spread rice cakes with peanut butter.

Arrange remaining ingredients to form the kitty faces.

Note: Rice Cake Kitties are best eaten immediately.
More aboutFun recipes for kids

Gingerbread People - Fun for the kids!!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv


Gingerbread People (Thanks to Word of Mouth)






1/2 cup castor sugar
3 cups plain flour
1 teaspoon bi-carb soda
2 teaspoons ground ginger
125g butter
4 tablespoons golden syrup
1 lightly beaten egg
1 cup icing sugar for icing
assortment of smarties, jellybeans etc

Method
Sift dry ingredients into a bowl and rub in butter.
Add sugar and mix well.
Warm the golden syrup slightly and add with the egg to the dry ingredients. You can also do this in a food processor to save time but be careful not to over process!
Knead until smooth and roll out to a thickness of about 3mm.
Cut into gingerbread people shapes or even stars, bells, circles etc.
Bake at 190 degrees for about 10-15 minutes.
Place on a wire rack to cool.

Make a fairly thick paste of icing sugar and water and "glue" the smarties, jelly beans etc on with the icing.
Generally more lollies are eaten than used for decoration!! Leave to set for about an hour then place in an airtight container.
These also make a fantastic gift for your children to make for their friends at Christmas.
More aboutGingerbread People - Fun for the kids!!

Metro Property Management Workshop

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv


Those who had the pleasure of hearing Dr Tony Hayek speak at the Metro Property Management Workshop will know what a great speaker he is. I’m sure everyone who attended went home feeling motivated, well informed and ready to take action!

Tony spoke about trends in the Australian property market, what’s hot, what’s not and touched on how to use your superannuation to start or grow your property portfolio.

Metro put on these Workshops/Seminars to educate clients and hopefully assist in wealth creation. It’s not about selling or making money, it’s all about education.

A great evening all round – feedback from some of our attendees:

MC – Interesting seminar with good advice

AB – Concise and to the point

CR – Informative and easy to understand

SR – If you’re thinking of investing in property, this is a good kick in the bum to get going

JD – Inspiring and empowering

CB – very informative

AW – The event is very entertaining and informative with the right information required for someone looking to invest for the long term

JB – Very engaging! Relevant and data driven. Great substantiated insights!

DG – Very informative and an eye opening seminar

MC – Very motivating and very well spoken

JF – The best education I’ve received in
ages

If you want to start or increase your property portfolio, please contact Metro Property Management. We can put you in touch with the market leaders enabling you to make smart and property investment decisions.

If you would like to attend any upcoming Workshops/Seminars, please email your interest with Carolyn Hall at carolynh@metropm.com.au or phone (03) 9831 3006.

Metro would like to thank Dr Tony Hayek for a very entertaining and informative evening!
More aboutMetro Property Management Workshop

Leah's new appointment!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, September 16, 2009


Leah Calnan, Director - Metro Property Management, has been elected Chairperson of the Real Estate Institute of Victoria (REIV) Property Management Committee.

After 3 successful appointments to the Property Management Committee over the past 10 years, this is Leah's appointment as Chairperson.

Leah's goal as Chairperson is to ensure the industry remains proactive and moves with the times, continues to provide property managers a voice within the industry and work with the Real Estate Institute of Victoria to maintain the profile of property management and the development of new talent coming into our industry.

Leah was elected by her peers and she is looking forward to the many challenges and new experiences this role will provide.
More aboutLeah's new appointment!

Investment Workshop

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, September 10, 2009


With interest rates at their lowest since 1964 and rents rapidly increasing, it has never been more affordable to hold property. The Australian property market currently provides investors with a 'once in a lifetime opportunity'.
But where should you be investing to maximise your return?

You are invited to hear leading property expert, Dr Tony Hayek, discuss the key drivers of Australian property market and explain how to use research to identify growth markets.

At this event you will

Hear the latest property research and market trends
Learn about what drives growth in the Australian property market
Understand property cycles and the importance of investing at the right time
Find out how you can buy property with your superannuation

Event Details

Date: Wednesday, 16th September, 2009

Time: 6.30pm - 7.00pm Light Refreshments
7.00pm - 8.30pm Australian Property Workshop
8.30pm - 8.45pm Questions and Answers

Venue:The Sebel - Albert Park
65 Queens Road
Melbourne Victoria 3000 Mel Ref 2L B11

To book your seat - please email carolynh@metropm.com.au
or phone (03) 9831 3006
More aboutInvestment Workshop

Why don't we like change?

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Over the past 2 days, I have enjoyed the beautiful sun and atmosphere of Noosa whilst attending a conference.
I believe professional development and education is crucial to not only enhance and develop my own personal skills, but obtain additional information and ideas which provide improvement and strategies to my business.
In 2009, why was there no topic or speaker presenting on social networking? Why are real estate agents so afraid of change? How are we ever going to develop the new talent entering this industry when the training content is the same all the time, out of touch and out dated?
More aboutWhy don't we like change?

Competing with the single minded

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Monday, August 31, 2009

Why are so many companies frightened of moving forward on the internet? Companies and business owners are barely scratching the surface when it comes to the internet let alone the social networking aspect of it.

We all want the next best new thing, but of course we must ensure we do it in a measured, rational way. Or do we?

A measured, rational way is great, but what if your competition doesn’t agree?

Seth Godin is quoted saying “When you have someone who is willing to accomplish A without worrying about B and C, they will almost always defeat you in accomplishing A. Online, of course, this often leads to doom, since there are many organizations that are willing to get big at the expense of revenue. But in the short run, the single minded have a fantastic advantage. And sometimes, their single minded focus on accomplishing just that one thing (whatever it is) pushes them through the Dip far ahead of you”.

Print media including newspapers, magazines, TV stations, real estate agents, travel agents, bookstores, insurance agents and five hundred plus other industries need to think hard about this before it's too late.

Can you afford to not to think outside the square from time to time…..
More aboutCompeting with the single minded

The why, what, who and how of winning business!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, June 18, 2009

Whenever we evaluate something we tend to go through 4 common stages; at Metro our team is constantly being trained on these stages to ensure we deliver to our client’s memorable experiences.

The first stage is WHY. It is important for us to understand why the client has come to the decision to rent the property. At Metro most of our clients are investors who are constantly adding to their portfolio. Because we manage properties here, there and everywhere we are able to manage all of our client’s properties providing a one stop service that they love.

The second stage is WHAT options are best for the client. Many agents will encourage you to sell your investments however because property management is our core business we teach our clients never to sell. We are able to provide detailed and researched data on rental prices and returns, types of tenants your property will attract and how long it may be vacant for.

The third stage is WHO. It is important that you research agents and ensure that they are able to provide you with the level of service you require. It is important you get constant feedback, guarantees on service delivery, researched rental prices and a team that is well trained and property management is their core business.

The fourth stage is HOW, we will work with you to ensure we provide you with the best marketing, feedback from open for inspections, presenting at least 3 applications for your approval and then managing the relationship with the tenant so your rent is paid on time and we ensure that we conduct regular inspections, rent reviews and lease renewals.

If you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact us at Metro Property Management.
More aboutThe why, what, who and how of winning business!

Basic Owner and Tenant Obligations when renting a property

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, June 4, 2009

When you are renting a property small problems can sometimes turn into big ones if they are not handled correctly or immediately.

To help you avoid this here are tips on some basic owner and tenant obligations:

As a tenant you are obliged to:

Keep the property clean
Ensure there is no deliberate damage caused to the property
Inform the agent immediately if damage does occur
Ask permission of the owner via the agent to install fixtures, make alterations or renovations
Avoid causing a nuisance to the neighbours and not to participate in any illegal activities on the property

As an owner you are obliged to:

Ensure the premises is in good repair
Ensure that all windows and doors are secure and have locks
Provide the tenant with a key if locks are changed
Avoid disturbing the tenant unnecessarily

Visit our website at www.metropm.com.au
More aboutBasic Owner and Tenant Obligations when renting a property

Tips on renting a property

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, May 28, 2009

Finding a place to rent can be quite stressful, here are a few tips you may want to consider:

Be very clear in your own minds the type of property you want to rent
Research the areas that you want to live in, look at surrounding suburbs as well
Have a realistic budget in mind in regards to how much rent you can pay
Make sure that you do a personal budget to ensure affordability
Apply for a property within 24 hours as the market is still competitive
Provide as much information for the agent and owners
Don’t leave it to the last minute to look for properties
If you are moving from another rental property make sure you provide the right amount of notice

Feel free to apply for more than one property with Metro. We do manage properties here there everywhere. If you are unsuccessful with one property there is a good chance there are others available.

Visit our website at www.metropm.com.au
More aboutTips on renting a property

Metro Property Management Investment Tips

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Now is the time to buy investment properties, interest rates are still at their lowest ever and many properties are can be cash flow positive. This has been the message for many months now and certainly the current market conditions are bringing first time investors into the property arena.

Here are Metro Property Management Tips to consider:

Always ensure that you take sound advice prior to making the
investment decision

Know your numbers – what is the impact going to be if you purchase an investment property - on your income

Attend seminars/workshops before making any decision

Ensure that you work with financial advisors and/or accountants to a develop wealth building strategy

Purchase median properties that are in high growth areas, they must be easy to rent

The area must have good infrastructure like schools, parks, shopping centres

Understand how you can leverage off existing investments to add to your wealth creation

The goal is to hold onto your investments long term, however be prepared that they may be times you may have to sell

Get an understanding on the level of debt you are in or prepared to go into and what a safe or comfortable level is across your portfolio

Research but don’t delay, now is the time to take action
More aboutMetro Property Management Investment Tips

Reducing Vacancies

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, May 13, 2009

As an investor in the property market vacant properties is a critical key issue.



A vacant property equates to no income which in turn has an impact on your cash flow and loan repayments.



If you property is being managed by an agent then here are some tips on ensuring minimum vacancy periods.



Marketing



Telling prospects that your property is available is the first critical step, today most potential tenants will search on websites such as realestate.com, realestateview.com.au and domain.com.au. As a property owner you should log onto these sites and ensure that your property is being marketed well.



The agent should have taken maximum number of quality pictures showing the property to its best advantage, a catchy headline that will grab the attention of prospective tenants, the body of the ad should sell the lifestyle the tenants could potentially have plus the local amenities available to them.



Time Frame



Your agent should aim to have your property on the market 4-6 weeks prior to it becoming vacant. They should provide you with feedback after open for inspections on things like number of groups that viewed the property, feedback received, applications made and general comments on the price of the property.



Within the first week your property manager should be able to confirm if the property has been priced correctly.



Improvements



Inspect the property and ask yourself would you apply to live there, if the answer is no or a maybe then you may need to do improvements which could be quite simple and inexpensive. A fresh coat of paint or adding a dishwasher can work wonders plus retain the market value of your property.



Ask your property manager for any suggestions on improvements, they would have got feedback from previous tenants and prospective clients attending open for inspections



Processing applications



It is important that your agent has a time frame in place to process applications and forward them to you for selection; best practise is at least within 24-48 hours of receipt of an application.



Your agent is your representative and is charged with ensuring that your property is well maintained and it continues to perform and obtain the best return on investment. It is important that you select not on what they charge in commissions but the service they provide. Remember you often get what you pay for.



Metro Property Management are the leading property management company in Melbourne, we manage properties here there and everywhere and our clients love to do business with us as we can deliver consistency and high levels of service.

More aboutReducing Vacancies

Metro Property Management Simple Investment Tips

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Now is the time to invest in property! This is the silver lining in a dark cloud. If your numbers add up and you can add or start your portfolio what should you look for?

Here are some tips:

There is an advantage to the property being new, you have less maintenance plus there will be a builders warranty
New properties are much easier to rent out
In the current market they offer great value for money
In turn you will get good capital growth
Allowing you to maximise tax benefits while minimising the cost of owning the property


Once you have made the investment decision the next step is to find a property manager who will look after your property.


At Metro property management our clients love doing business with us because:

Property management is our core business so our clients deal with one company instead of multiple agencies
We manage properties here, there and everywhere which means no matter where your property is located we can manage it for you
Our clients love having one point of contact and consistency in the level of service we provide
We easily handle multiple properties
We are the experts in managing large developments, off the plan, complexes and new homes
Our focus is on minimal days on market
Our team is committed to the performance and growth of your investment
Our property managers ensure your rent is paid on time
We pride ourselves in regular feedback

More aboutMetro Property Management Simple Investment Tips

Choosing the right property manager to care for your investment!

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Thursday, April 23, 2009

Finding a property manager who will manage your properties is critical to investors. Here is a list of areas that you must consider prior to making your selection; and remember it is no longer necessary to use a local real estate agency, if you have several properties try and find an agent who will manage all of them as the advantages of dealing with one company and one manager far outweighs the need of dealing with several.

An informed and proactive property manager:

Understands that a vacant property is the enemy of investors
Comes to the intervew prepared with comparable rent values and an estimate valuation
Has forwarded to you via email or mail information on their business
Asks what your specific needs are and sets an agenda for your meeting
Follow us if they do not list the property
Provides references or testimonials
Understands how the current rental makret is performing
Isn’t easy to negotiate with, remember you want a property manager who can negotiate
their fees or you need to ask yourself how will they get you market value for your rental
property
Does not hand out keys but meets all prospective tenants at the property
Have processes in place to call or sms you after each open for inspection
Looks after a reasonable size portfolio
Clearly explains their tenant selection, arrears, rent reviews and lease renewal process
Clearly understands how you want to be communicated with and frequency
Makes contact with you on a regular basis
Provides you with simple property management statements
Provides your accountants with a financial year statement
Provides you information on landlord insurance
Attends body corporate meetings on your behalf
Is experienced at VCAT however is not a frequent attendant
Is committed to their professional development

It is important to remember that the cheapest property management rate will not get you the best property manager.

Metro Property Management core business is investment properties. We manage properties here, there and everywhere, we research every area and our clients love the fact that they only have to deal with one company for all of their property needs.
More aboutChoosing the right property manager to care for your investment!

“Never let a good crisis go to waste!!”

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Barrack Obama’s Chief of Staff Eham Emanuel told the New York times right after the election “Never let a good crisis go to waste; there are opportunities to do big things”.

More recently Secretary of State Hillary Clinton told members of the European Parliament “never waste a good crisis” and then President Obama himself explained on a recent internet address “there is great opportunity in the midst of the great crisis”.

Over the last few months we have been inundated with information about the Global Financial Crisis – the G.F.C. and the havoc it is creating globally.

It certainly has been used as an excuse for just about everything that occurs around the world and in business.

However let’s take a moment to stop, think and ask ourselves why we look for excuses or reasons to blame something or someone else for the situation we are in.

A lot of businesses can behave like ostriches. Let me stick my head in the sand and when I pull my head out the crisis will be over.

Seth Godin in his book The Dip talks about businesses going through lows and highs. It’s the decisions and risks we take in the dip that sets us up for success when the market turns.

But how many of us have the courage to act and take risks when opportunities arise. Remember out of adversity comes opportunity.

So let’s review opportunities available to us in the current market:

It is a buyer’s market; house prices have stablised or are still falling in some areas. A buyers market provides you with the opportunity to choose the best investment.

Interest rates are at their lowest since 1964 and many investors are starting to experience positive return on their investments.

Rental returns have risen consistently over the past 2 years and with vacancy rates at critical levels this will not change.

So do your numbers, if they stack up then now is the time to add to your portfolio, the return on investment is certainly stronger than what you get from stocks, shares and superannuation.


For many of you who have not invested in property before the first step can often be the hardest. However it is never too late to start.

Metro has a number of relationships with business partners that provide our clients with guidance on how to buy your first property or expand on your current portfolio.


Owning property should be financially rewarding and Metro is here to resolve the challenges that may occur from time to time.


Don’t let a good crisis go to waste and remember there are great opportunities amidst the G.F.C

www.metropm.com.au


More about“Never let a good crisis go to waste!!”

Women making key investment decisions

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv on Sunday, April 19, 2009

Property is the number one investment choice in comparison to stocks and shares and women are rapidly becoming a growing force in regards to property investment.

In fact in our many years in real estate it is indeed rare to come across men who will make the final decision to buy, rent or sell.

  • Property does deliver better returns
  • Bricks and mortar is still a safe investment
  • An increasing number of single mothers and self employed women are investing in property and building portfolios

Some of the things to consider when making that investment decision are:
Upcoming areas, infrastructure, local facilities, size of property, your return on investment.

Metro Property Management manages properties here there and everywhere.

Many of our clients are women investors and tenants; we make renting or owing property comfortable, enjoyable and easy.


See you at our opens.

More aboutWomen making key investment decisions

Interest Rate Cuts

Posted by gvgvasgvsz vgzavzAvv

The recent RBA announcement of a further.25% drop in interest rate cuts made it the lowest cash rate in 30years.

Consumers waited with baited breath to see if the banks passed it on.The Commonwealth was the first to reduce its rates quickly followed by ANZ and the Westpac, the NAB has held off.

No bank has passed on the full cut to their customers and it seems that they tend to take turns in who is going to lead the charge, by how much and who is going to hold.

However we do have to admit that the Australian banking system is far more secure that the US banking system and many larger banks are still making reasonable profits.Shop around for those banks that are passing the cuts to their clients and send a strong message to those that are not.

What does a further interest rate cut mean to the investor – well now is the time to invest in property. Vacancy rates are still between 1-2% ; which is at critical levels, many investment properties are becoming positively geared and although rent values have stabilised overall there is still great return on investment.
More aboutInterest Rate Cuts